## Attachment C (WIOA 106 (b)) Designation of Local Areas for the implementation of WIOA

For the implementation of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), Governor Kate Brown designated nine Local Workforce Development Areas (local areas).

## Initial Designation

Four local areas were designated as a local workforce investment area (LWIA) for the purposes of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA), and requested initial designation as described in WIOA Section 160(b)(2).

Additionally, these local area performed successfully and sustained fiscal integrity for the two years preceding the enactment of WIOA, as defined in WIOA Section 106(e), and were approved to continue to be a local area for the purposes of WIOA, through June 30, 2017 (PYs 2015 & 2016).

The four local areas receiving approval for initial designation are:

- Multnomah and Washington counties and the City of Portland
- Clackamas County
- Lane County
- Jackson and Josephine counties

## Designation on Recommendation of the State Board

In 2014, local elected officials recommended that the Governor consider new boundaries within two existing local areas comprising a 24 (non-contiguous) county local area and an adjacent three county local area.

The Oregon Department of Community Colleges and Workforce Development, the Governor, and the Oregon Workforce Investment Board (OWIB) collaborated to develop a voluntary, locally initiated procedure for LWIA Redesignation Requests, based on guidance found in the Workforce Investment Act, Final Rule, TEGL 37-10 *Workforce Investment Act (WIA) and Appropriations Act Provisions on the Designation of Local Workforce Investment Areas*, and contact with DOL/ETA Region 6 staff.

On October 22, 2014, the Governor designated five new local workforce areas. The redesignation process conformed to Section 116 of the WIA and TEGL 37-10, and aligns with Section 106(b)(4) of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. This entire process, including the State Board review criteria, public comments, and the Governor's approval letter, became part of Oregon's State Plan via *WorkSource Oregon State Plan Modification #01-14*, and Oregon received official approval of the modification and designations from the Department of Labor on January 20, 2015. This modification is in effect through June 30, 2016.

The five local areas so designated are:

- Linn, Marion, Polk and Yamhill counties
- Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Lincoln and Tillamook counties
- Coos, Curry and Douglas counties
- Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Sherman, Wasco, and Wheeler counties
- Baker, Grant, Harney, Malheur, Morrow, Umatilla, Union and Wallowa counties